Say It With Me Now – “Say-Tan”

DSC_0004

“Yeah, I may not be the prettiest, but I sure am yummy”

Tall, dark & garlicky

“I’m ready for the oven!”

“Say-tan”, “see-tun”, “say-tawn”, pronounced any which way, this super versatile wheat meat is my favorite of the faux meats out there (with tempeh a very close second). After some seitan sticker shock at the grocery store, I decided making my own was the way to go. I’ve tried steaming & boiling, but by far, baking is the simplest and has the best texture.

For this particular batch of seitan I am making Indian tinged bbq’d kabobs so I went that route with my flavorings:

1.5 C – vital wheat gluten

3-4 TB – nutritional yeast

1 tsp – salt

1 tsp – paprika

1 tsp – garam masala

1.5 tsp – cumin

1 tsp – pepper

2 tsp – curry powder

dash of cayenne

1 C –  water

3 TB tomato paste

2 TB ketchup

1 TB tamari or soy

2 TB vegetarian Worcestershire sauce

Dash of liquid smoke

2 cloves of crushed garlic (you can leave this out mom)

-Preheat oven at 325. Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk wet ingredients. Combine wet & dry and knead until thoroughly mixed (it’s possible this may feel a little dry or a little wet, if so, no biggie. Just add a tablespoon more of water or gluten until it feels right). Continue kneading for a few minutes into the tube formation you see above. Wrap in tin foil as shown. Bake for 1.5 hours, flipping halfway through. When done, remove & open carefully, as I have had a puff of steam ‘explode’ from the wrapping and it was kind of terrifying. Let cool and slice according to how you plan to use. Cubes are great for kabobs & stews, thins strips are perfect for mock Philly cheesesteaks, gyros or fajitas, sausages shapes for uhhh, sausage. You get it. Or, simply freeze for later.

Some notes…

*It’s always good to double, triple even quadruple the recipe. So easy to just make a big batch of tubes in one shot and toss them in the freezer for later use. Just make sure that after you mix the wet & dry ingredients you immediately separate into individual logs. If you knead all at once it is hella tough to break apart later.

*You can totally customize the flavor. Besides the wheat gluten & water everything is basically just for taste. Like I mentioned, I wanted a Indian flavored seitan here, but say you wanted to chop it up and add it to lasagna, you could flavor with oregano & basil for an Italian feel. Or, seitan is awesome in Asian stir fries, so you could do a ginger flavored version. You get the point, you can totally play with the flavor.

I’ll post about the kabobs I used this for soon.

Let me know how it turns out if you try yourself!

"I'm done!"

“I’m done!”

"Ouch!"

“Ouch!”

3 thoughts on “Say It With Me Now – “Say-Tan”

  1. Pingback: I’m bringing Hasselback! | bonappecait

  2. Pingback: Bangin Bogus Beef & Delectable Dumplins | bonappecait

Leave a Reply

