So Nice I Made It Twice

DSC_0060

For Christmas this year, five fabulous vegan cookbooks lay beautifully wrapped under my tree. Or maybe they just sat in Amazon boxes on my dining room table. However they arrived, I’ve been having a ball with them. Starting a relationship with a new cookbook is always such a treat.

Paging through ‘Cooking Crunk: Eating Vegan in the Dirty South’, the Garlicky Black Eyed Pea Hummus recipe stopped me immediately. I decided to have some ready for New Year’s. Black eyed peas, good luck in the New Year, I live in Vegas, you get it.

The recipe is just your standard hummus procedure with black eyeds swapped in. Can of the peas (though I cooked my fresh from dried), 1/4c tahini, 3TBs of olive oil (I omitted & didn’t miss), 1TB lemon juice, 2 cloves of garlic, 1/4tsp salt, & 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water. Process. Plus some paprika to pretty it up.

The rich smokey flavor the peas brought has me hooked. It was so, so, so good. So good, I’ve made two more batches in the last month!

DSC_0071_1

My hand model could use a manicure.

DSC_1134

Side note, I always have tons & tons of leftovers and get annoyed at having to use a roll of foil a month to keep my dishes covered. Simple & cute solution I received for Xmas:  these amazing lily pad bowl covers. They work better than I could’ve ever hoped for & are a breeze to clean. In love!

DSC_1141

2 thoughts on “So Nice I Made It Twice

Leave a Reply

