Scrumptious Smoked Apple Sage Sausage

DSC_0488

Smoked apple sage.  Doesn’t that just sound divine? Well it tastes it. When I first turned vegetarian I spent a good deal of time shopping the ‘tofurky area’ in Whole Foods. By luck, a Whole Foods worker interrupted my browsing one day to recommend I take a look at their frozen vegetarian meat section (since these foods typically have less preservatives and less other ooky stuff). She specifically mentioned Field Roast products. Thank you nosy WF worker! I love, love, love the taste & texture of Field Roast’s offerings and their products list actual veggies in the ingredients, imagine that. These sausages became my go-to item to add some heft to a soup. (Fyi, four links are about $5 – $6, worth it imo.)

Here I added the smoked apple sage (my fav flav) to a simple butternut squash recipe to ‘make it a meal’. It is not easy to be a star on the same stage as the butternut squash but this sausage shines!

DSC_0402

 

2 thoughts on “Scrumptious Smoked Apple Sage Sausage

  1. I never knew there was a smoked apple sage vegetarian product at Whole Foods, I actually buy our baby formula at Whole Foods so will definitely check this out next time. This dish looks like it will chase away the winter blues!

Leave a Reply

